Healthy Frozen Treats!

MangoFrozenYogurt

After my little ones have finished all the food on their plate at dinnertime, their favorite question to ask is, “Is there anything else we can have?” Sometimes I pretend I think they’re asking for seconds, but I know what they’re really asking is, can they have some dessert. Dessert is not an every day thing in my house, but my children come by their sweet tooth honestly, so I like to indulge them sometimes.

Now, I’m not going to pretend that whenever I make treats for the kids, they’re all super healthy, sugar-free treats, but I do make an effort to cut the sugar in my recipes, use other sweeteners (maple syrup, agave, honey) and either completely substitute butter for coconut oil, or at least split it 50/50.

This recipe was my solution to my littles telling me they wanted ice cream sandwiches.

Homemade Frozen Yogurt

Ingredients

  • 8 oz of frozen fruit (most frozen fruit bags are 15-16oz) so this is roughly half the bag
  • 1/4 cup plain organic yogurt
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of maple syrup
  • juice of 1/2 lemon

Directions

Put all the ingredients into a food processor and mix until smooth. Please notice I said food processor and not blender. I made the mistake of trying to whip this up in my blender and it was rough. The blender just didn’t have enough juice to deal with such a thick concoction. That being said if you have something like a Vitamix, you should do just fine.

My girls never want the same flavor/kind/type of anything, so I made one batch of mango frozen yogurt (pictured above) and one batch of strawberry frozen yogurt (below). We ended up with about half a pint of each, which was just enough for 4 small bowl of frozen yogurt (with a little leftover for later). I used half a cookie to garnish each of their servings, and just like that their ice cream cookie craving was satisfied. Added bonus: my 9 month old was able to enjoy this treat as well!

StrawberryFrozenYogurt

Leave a Reply

