Baby Hummus!

My husband and I ordered falafel the other day and it came with a side of hummus. My 9-month old little peanut was eyeing it, so I decided to let him have a taste and he loved it!! It then dawned on me that hummus is the perfect baby food! High in protein, iron, and fiber, with a smooth, creamy consistency… I don’t know why it hadn’t occurred to me sooner. So, I got in the kitchen to make my own!

babyhummus

 

 

 

 

 

 

Homemade Baby* Hummus

Ingredients

1 can of organic chick peas

3TBSP  Tahini

1/4C Olive Oil

Juice of 2 Lemons

2 cloves of garlic

A pinch of salt

2TBSP Water

Directions

Put all of the ingredients into your food processor or blender and pulse until smooth. If it is a little thick for your liking, add another tablespoon of water.

 

*You may be wondering what makes this “baby” hummus and not just regular old hummus. Well, many hummus recipes are spiced up, which may be a little difficult for a baby palette. A pinch of salt n pepper, along with some paprika would make this a hummus fit for grown ups 🙂

Leave a Reply

